Drug possession is a fairly common charge in North Carolina. However, our court system takes drug-related criminal charges very seriously. It’s a hard situation in which to find yourself or your loved one. It is helpful to have some information about drug possession charges and the arrest and booking process if this is a situation you face.
North Carolina drug laws are centered around a federal system that places different types of drugs into “schedules” according to how dangerous they are, the potential for medical use, and the risk of addiction.
Schedule I Drugs
Schedule I includes drugs like heroin, LSD, and ecstasy. These drugs have no medical use and are extremely addictive and dangerous. Possessing them is considered a Class I felony and carries a potential 3 to 8 months in the North Carolina State Prison system (not the Wake County jail), plus fines.
Schedule II Drugs
Schedule II drugs include methamphetamines, cocaine, methadone, and opium. They are a little less dangerous than Schedule I drugs but they still have a very high risk of addiction. These drugs rarely have a legitimate medical use. Possession of these substances is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor and carries a potential 6 to 12 months in the county jail.
Schedule III Drugs
Schedule III substances include things like ketamine, anabolic steroids, and some depressants. They are addictive but they also have some legitimate medical uses. Possessing Schedule III drugs carries Class 1 misdemeanor charges with 6 to 12 months in the county jail.
Schedule IV Drugs
Schedule IV drugs include Xanax, Valium, and other sedatives. Though they are addictive, these drugs are frequently prescribed for medical use. It is illegal to possess these drugs without a valid prescription. Possession of a Schedule IV drug is a Class 1 misdemeanor that carries 6 to 12 months in the county jail.
Schedule V Drugs
Schedule V substances are typically medications that include codeine. They have a very low risk of addiction, but do require a valid prescription. Possession of a Schedule V is a Class 2 misdemeanor and carries a potential sentence of 30 days to 6 months in the county jail.
Schedule VI Drugs
Schedule VI drugs include marijuana. They are considered to be drugs that have no medical use and a very low risk of addiction. Possession of a Schedule VI is considered a Class 3 misdemeanor and carries up to 30 days in the county jail.
For more information about what to expect during the arrest, booking, and arraignment process, see our blog HERE.
If you find yourself needing to post bail for yourself or a loved one who has been arrested for drug possession, you can expect kindness and respect from our team at Ace Bail Bonding. We’ll listen to you and answer your questions. Call us anytime, 24/7, to speak to a bail bonds professional at Ace – 919-337-2862 .
Comments are closed.